Plans for my solar panel

http://www.siliconsolar.com/Portable-Solar-Power-System-p-10.html

PVSmall System

See this? Here’s a commercial version of what I am hoping to build with my new solar panel. Theirs is all nicely designed to fold up and fit in the little case shown. Whether or not I can achieve that, it’s a good blueprint for future design on this project. Their system seems to use a much smaller power storage unit than a standard car battery, though they offer upgrades to both battery and panel size on their site.

As for my own setup, I am currently getting ready to re-solder all of the visible connections between the individual panels in the series. Pictures coming soon. They all appear to be in good condition, save one with a slight bash in the corner near the connection. May this be all I need to fix to get this baby going! After that, the panel will get hooked to a voltage tester to see if there is a drop. Then a test to see if the voltage continues to hold when placed in the hot sun, which was an operational problem with the panel previously. Luckily, solar experimentation has been lurking in the back of my brain for a while now, so as the various tools necessary have arrived at the 99 cents only store, I’ve grabbed ’em. What I’m trying to point out here is that you can do a lot of the necessary work without spending very much on specialized tools. Well, I’ll let you know how it goes!

Leave a Reply

