UPDATE: Commitments and your future self

Time to check in on the great experiment that started this whole thought blot that is my blog. After a few months, how am I doing in my quest to detach from the grid? Here’s the report:

Solar Cooking: I constructed two solar ovens and have been testing them out whenever possible. Lately, there haven’t been too many hot, sunny days. I think they’re spraying too many chemtrails to keep the temperatures down. (If you don’t know what a chemtrail is, consider yourself warned: the government is spraying us with heavy metals and other carcinogens in order to better control the weather and possibly do a host of other nasty things… look it up on Google.) I have successfully cooked several foods, and have found that squashes are by far the easiest to cook, as they have a fairly high water content but are not actually liquid. Next, I plan to branch out more into cooking fruits.

Haven’t gotten that solar panel dissected. I’m a little afraid to cut into the circuitry without expert help. But it will happen, undoubtedly once I figure out the perfect application for the modules.

Avoiding Fast Foods: Um, not exactly going to get a A+ on this one, but I have cut out a majority of the fast food joint trips. And replaced them with frozen dinners from the grocery store. Yeah, need to work on that. I still hit up Del Taco for some tostadas and salads, but try to avoid anything with meat. The frozen pasta dinners, on the other hand, do have some meat in their sauces, and who knows what else hiding in those highly processed packages. Drinks are falling somewhere in the realm of sodas (healthy is harder than I thought on a budget!), whole milk, and gatorade. Judge as you will.

Adopt a Block: I selected the block that I will keep clean. I have done preliminary study to see what sorts of trash accumulate there: it’s your usual city detritus, mostly plastic bags, party fliers, and paper cups with various name brands emblazoned on their sides. At home, I’ve started a few seeds of edible varieties to do some “guerrilla gardening” as I pick up the trash. They are just now maturing to a size where they can be transplanted, and I will probably put them out this weekend. Stay tuned on that.

Transportation: As reported, I sold the car, and have been hoofing it since. In the city, there’s a lot of public transportation available, and I’ve simply been taking the metro, and occasionally the bus. Since the Metro is more than a mile from my place, I’ve been doing plenty of walking lately. Luckily the weather has been beautiful for that. Taken the Greyhound several times now, and it’s doing just fine for long-distance needs. Otherwise, I don’t miss the car too much, though I did have to skip attending the magazine release party for my latest article due to lack of appropriate transport. All in all, a small price to pay. Still looking for a great deal on a scooter or bicycle on Freecycle, whenever that may happen.

Far West AlmanacIf you live in Southern California, check out my latest article in this month’s Far West Almanac!

Website: As this whole blog is a labor of love, I’ve been trying to make lots of useful information available for all of you who are fellow travelers on the road to off-grid living. That does take a bit of time and applied effort. You’ll see that recently, several pages have been added to the site, outlining several aspects of low-impact living. I am continuing to update and add to these pages as I do research. Keep an eye out soon for an all-natural recipes page and a survival skills page. Of course, I’d love to hear more about what YOU want to see here. Please comment if you are looking for information you can’t find, or if you see something that was especially helpful, so I know what to add.

So that’s the round-up. It’s important to check in every once in a while on your progress, so you know whether things are going as you planned or if you’re headed for uncharted territories. For an automated way to do this, I like to use http://www.futureme.org, a service that lets you write an email to your future self. You have to write more than three months in advance, so it’s not a daily reminder service… it’s a way to remind yourself of what was important to you at a particular moment. It’s humorous to talk to yourself this way – you think you’ll remember what you’ve said, but trust me, you won’t. Try it!

Leave a Reply

